RSS

Red Hot Wok

27 May

313 Toorak Rd, South Yarra VIC 3141 Australia

One of the benefits of my heritage and family is the mind-boggling number of relations that are connected with us. It is through one of these relations that has ledme to Red Hot Wok, a Chinese/Malaysian restaurant that I have revisited many times for parties, welcomings, and the occasional quiet dinner.

The atmosphere and decor is warm, homely and noisy, but that doesn’t conceal the fact that it is a relatively small restaurant, roughly about the same size as the Nandos next door. The service is somewhat awkward and cold, but the speed in which they serve dishes out of their tiny, closet-like kitchen is astounding and surprising, given the medium-high quality cuisine they dish out here.

That brings me to my next topic, the entree. For me it was battered prawns with wasabi sauce, accompanied by those customary prawn crackers that every Chinese restaurant seems to give out nowadays. The crackers were okay but the prawns were unique in texture and flavour, bringing a tingling but not spicy sensation to my nostrils. Served with lettuce and sliced red onion it was a rather unbalanced but nevertheless light starter. I eagerly anticipated the crab that was coming next.

The chilli mud crabs came in two styles – one with fried herbs and utterly spicy, the other stewed in a rich sauce of crabmeat and spices. The latter, served with pieces of roti, was a wonder to behold. So delicious were the crabs that I could not help but make a mess of myself. The former was lacking due to the tiny pieces of shell within the crumbled herbs, which neary literally broke my teeth.

Next rice was served with a sizzling hot tofu with another rich, mushroom sauce. Believe me, it was a tofu to die for. With a texture so soft as to practically melt in your mouth, it is perhaps one of the best tofu dishes that I have ever tasted in Victoria. Later on one of the most astonishing dishes was delivered to our table – a foil-wrapped package of sweet-and-sour pork, with blue flames still licking over the foil. It was opened and some of the most succulent pork I have ever had the fortune to taste came my way. It was utterly irresistable, and I cannot help but to long for it again as I type this.

But that’s where I must stop typing this, for I know that you will get tired of me rambling on and on of praises for this restaurant. It will only heighten your expectations, but I know that some may be rather disappointed, while others are fulfilled when you actually go.

Score:

  • Atmosphere: 8/10
  • Entree: 8/10
  • Mains: 9/10
  • Last Impressions: 8/10

OVERALL SCORE: 33/40

Red Hot Wok on Urbanspoon

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 27, 2012 in Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Red Hot Wok

  1. Melissa

    May 27, 2012 at 4:35 pm

    Do you get a lot of referrals from Urban Spoon? I’m weighing if I should add spoonback to my blogposts.

     
    • Al

      May 27, 2012 at 10:07 pm

      There’s different sizes of spoonbacks on the website, and ever since I spoonbacked all my posts and claimed my blog on it (which was around a day ago) there’s been a literal explosion of views… and I post irregularily, but I do try to get into new restaurants every month.

       
      • Melissa

        May 27, 2012 at 10:26 pm

        Thanks!

         

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 133 other followers

